Memes · TBR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? February 24, 2020

It's Monday What are you reading.png

Good Morning!

It’s the start of another week. It’s Monday! What are you Reading is hosted by Kathryn from Book Date, this is a weekly event to share what we’ve read in the past week and what we hope to read, plus whatever else comes to mind.

Recent Books
I don’t think I have ever read so much in one week and I don’t see this ever happening again.

The Celestial Assignment

 

The Celestial Assignment by Theresa Braun
Short Story/ Urban Fantasy/ Paranormal
Add to Goodreads

After a sudden death, Will, a misguided angel, is tasked with protecting a baby girl. Watching over her as she grows up and navigates the world appears a harsh punishment for his past failings. Can he redeem himself, or will he fall further from grace?

 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky
The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky
by Mackenzi Lee
(Montague Siblings #1.5)
Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Romance
Add to Goodreads

In this funny and frothy novella that picks up where the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue leaves off, freshly minted couple Monty and Percy fumble through their first time together.

Monty’s epic grand tour may be over, but now that he and Percy are finally a couple, he realizes there is something more nerve-wracking than being chased across Europe: getting together with the person you love.

Will the romantic allure of Santorini make his first time with Percy magical, or will all the anticipation and build-up completely spoil the mood?

A Case of Possession
A Case of Possession by K.J. Charles
(A Charm of Magpies #2)
Historical, Fantasy, Romance
Add to Goodreads

Magic in the blood. Danger in the streets.

Lord Crane has never had a lover quite as elusive as Stephen Day. He knows Stephen’s job as justiciar requires secrecy, but the magician is doing his disappearing act more than seems reasonable—especially since Crane will soon return to his home in China. When a blackmailer threatens to expose their illicit relationship, there’s only one thing stopping Crane from leaving the country he loathes: Stephen.

Stephen has problems of his own. As he investigates a plague of giant rats sweeping London, his sudden increase in power, boosted by his blood-and-sex bond with Crane, is rousing suspicion that he’s turned warlock. With all eyes on him, the threat of exposure grows. Stephen could lose his friends, his job and his liberty over his relationship with Crane. He’s not sure if he can take that risk much longer. Crane isn’t sure if he can ask him to.

The rats are closing in, and something has to give…

A Rainforest Adventure
A Rainforest Adventure
 by Sharon C. Williams
(Jasper – Amazon Parrot Book 1)
Children’s Fiction, Chapter Books
Add to Goodreads

Jasper is no ordinary parrot. He lives in the rainforest, which secrets he’s eager to explore. Jasper loves his home and his family, and he’s also in charge of his younger brother Willie – a responsibility Jasper takes very seriously.

When he meets Charlie – a spider monkey with a penchant for food and a laid back attitude – he realizes he’s in for an adventure he never thought possible. Even if this means getting into danger and worrying his mother to no end.

Exploring the boundaries of the forest, Jasper understands that there is more to the world around him. Who are the strange new creatures that have come there? With Willie and Charlie by his side, he will soon find out.

The Tin Rose

 

The Tin Rose by Anne Renwick
Fantasy, Steampunk, Romance
Add to Goodreads

Note: This is a SHORT story.

A promise. A poison. A race to save a love balanced on the edge.

A clockwork contraption unwinds a poisonous bloom, sending Lady Emily and Luca, her gypsy love, on a race to reach the cure.

 

Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia #1-3
by Steven Mofat, Jay (Artist)
(A Scandal In Belgravia)
Comic
Add to Goodreads

The critically acclaimed manga adaptation of Sherlock hits Season Two, introducing the iconic Irene Adler! Fresh from facing down Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch) and John Watson (Martin Freeman) are called in to assist the royal family in a very delicate matter… only to find that the Great Detective may have met his match!

Oath of Deception
Oath of Deception: Reign of Secrets

by Jennifer Anne Davis
(Reign of Secrets #4)
Young Adul, Fantasy
Add to Goodreads

For Savenek, there is no greater honor than protecting Emperion. While other young men his age study a trade, he attends a secret, elite military academy where he has been honed into a lethal asset for his kingdom. He can gather information without detection and kill from the shadows. Savenek’s own father is the schoolmaster, and he forces Savenek to train harder than any other student. As graduation draws near, Savenek eagerly awaits the vows inducting him into the Brotherhood of the Crown.

When a messenger arrives with news of war brewing on the horizon, the Brotherhood is called into action. Eager to prove himself, Savenek goes on his first mission alone. He doesn’t expect to uncover a treacherous plot to destroy Emperion. He doesn’t expect to join forces with someone outside the Brotherhood, let alone a woman. He certainly doesn’t expect to fail.

But then again, his father taught him nothing ever goes as planned.

Political intrigue clashes with romance in this thrilling story that continues the Reign of Secrets saga.

A Lily for my Enemy
Lily for My Enemy
by L.G. Rollins
(Lockhart #2)
Regency Romance
Add to Goodreads

He’s from Lords. She sides with Commons.
Watch out London, sparks will fly.

Felix Lockhart is tired of balls, tired of musicales, and most especially tired of society only seeing him as the heir apparent to a powerful seat in Lords. Then, one evening he meets the witty Jocelyn Hunt—perhaps the only young lady in London who isn’t impressed with him.

Jocelyn Hunt will never hold a seat in the House of Commons herself, but she is no less an ardent supporter. When she meets the brooding Felix Lockhart, she is determined he understand that the House of Lords simply cannot continue to ignore the changing times.

Though they quarrel at first, both Felix and Jocelyn find themselves irresistibly drawn toward the other. But when their roles as heir apparent and daughter of a prominent man in Commons push them apart, can their undeniable connection be enough to bridge two groups determined to hate one another?

 


Current Reads:
Things in Jars
Things in Jars
by Jess Kidd
Historical, Fantasy, Mystery
Add to Goodreads

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot-tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

 

What are your reading plans this week?

Let’s chat in the comments below!

Follow me on other platforms:
Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin | Facebook

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? February 24, 2020

      1. Hehehe it was a shocker and I should be used to shocks with the thrillers I read. Why can’t the book have a fab cover which would pull me to read it? Apparently the author is good in her writing. Ah well, some books say don’t pick me

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am planning to finish Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare and maybe continue my buddy read of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Few more books to go before we can start Bloodlines aka superior series from VA universe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s