Reviews

Review: A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas

Book Review

a study in scarlet women
A Study in Scarlet Women
by Sherry Thomas
(Lady Sherlock #1)
Historical Fiction, Mystery
Add to Goodreads

Synopsis
With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper-class society. But even she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London.

When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her sister and her father, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. She’ll have help from friends new and old—a kind-hearted widow, a police inspector, and a man who has long loved her.

But in the end, it will be up to Charlotte, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.

What I thought
So I might be a little biased since Sherlock Holmes-esque reads are comfort reads for me. So it is no surprise that I really liked this twist on Sherlock Holmes. This is a classic woman in Victorian England taking control of her life no matter how society/her family wants to use her for. I live for these types of books.

I liked how the Author swapped the gender of Sherlock but still found a way to incorporate the classic characters that we all associate with Sherlock Holmes stories. They don’t reside in their classic roles which I enjoyed rather than the author trying to force them in there. For example, Charlette has sisters, not a brother named Mycroft, but Mycroft still shows up as he should just in a different place. Yes, I am being purposefully vague so as not to spoil anything. Everyone you need for a classic Holmes esque story comes together nicely.

One of the things that I adored about the character Charlotte was her relationship with her sister Bernadette. Even though she was a classic Holmes character (very offish to everyone) her relationship with her sister Bernadette is a very sweet one. Charlotte seemed to be the only person that understands her and you can tell she truly cares for her.

There is the possibility of a love story brewing and I am curious to see how it plays out. The “love interest” seems to be a man of high morals so I am interested to see how this all plays out in the other books.

My Rating: /55 Stars

Follow me on other platforms:
Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin | Facebook

New Releases

Waiting On Wednesday: The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday was a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Each Wednesday you got to highlight a book that you were really looking forward to. Unfortunately, the original creator is no longer able to host the meme and it has now linked up with Can’t Wait Wednesday over at Wishful Endings.

This week I’ve chosen: The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas

the-magnolia-sword
The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan

by Sherry Thomas
Retelling, Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fiction

CHINA, 484 A.D.

A Warrior in Disguise
All her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose: to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight. If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own duel.

Then a messenger from the Emperor arrives, demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north. Mulan’s father cannot go. Her brother is just a child. So she ties up her hair, takes up her sword, and joins the army as a man.

A War for a Dynasty
Thanks to her martial arts skills, Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling–the royal duke’s son, who is also the handsomest man she’s ever seen. But the princeling has secrets of his own, which explode into Mulan’s life and shake up everything she knows. As they cross the Great Wall to face the enemy beyond, Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past, unmask a traitor, and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion . . . before it’s too late.

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore–a thrilling, romantic, and sharp-edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

Expected publication: September 10, 2019

Add to Goodreads

Follow me on other platforms:
Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin | Facebook